Occupational Health & Safety - ISO 45001 & AS/NZS 4801

An occupational health and safety (OHS) management system is a system of management that focuses on the organization's people and ensuring that they come to no harm, and continual improvement.

There are a number of OHS management system standards including, ISO 45001, OHSAS 18001 and AS/NZS 4801. 

ISO 45001:

ISO 45001 Occupational Health and Safety Management systems - Requirements is the first international OHS standard.  ISO 45001 provides a framework to improve employee safety, reduce workplace risks and create better, safer working conditions, all over the world.  

The standard incorporates the new High Level Structure (HLS) which is common across all new ISO standards. This change will place increased emphasis on the organization’s context, risk management, and the role of top management.

Exemplar Global have advised that as ISO 45001 is an entirely new international standard it is entirely separate to, and will not immediately supersede the existing OH qualification offered against AS/NZS 4801 and/or OHSAS 18001. The older unit written to 18001/4801 will remain until each standard becomes obsolete.

Organisations will determine whether and when they decide to transition across to ISO 45001 or continue to use the existing standards they have in place. As a result, auditors will be required to determine which qualification they will require to best align with their customer's standards and requirements. This could mean that in some cases it will be necessary for auditors to hold OH audit qualifications against both.

What courses do you offer in ISO 45001?
Auditor Training Online offers the Exemplar Global competency unit of Exemplar Global OH 45001 - Occupational Health & Safety Management Systems and the following courses are now available for online enrolment:

Can I transition to ISO 45001, is there a Bridging Course?

As ISO 45001 is the first international OHS standard there are no ‘bridging or upgrade' courses offered from the Exemplar Global OH competency (OHSAS 18001 or AS/NZS 4801). There are significant additional clauses within the new standard that auditors must understand and demonstrate their knowledge of.

As such, a new competency unit is required to be completed to demonstrate competency and understanding of this new Standard.  

AS/NZS 4801 / OHSAS 18001

What courses do you offer in AS/NZS 4801 / OHSAS 18001?

Auditor Training Online offers the Exemplar Global competency unit Exemplar Global OH - Occupational Health & Safety (OHS) Management Systems the following course is available for online enrolment:

PLEASE NOTE: Due to licensing restrictions and availability a copy of AS/NZS 4801 is provided in lieu of OHSAS 18001. These standards are accompanied by a comparison document outlining the differences between AS/NZS 4801 and OHSAS 18001. The end Exemplar Global qualification remains the same for both regional standards.